You are here:The WetlandsHistory & BackgroundYea Wetlands Committee of Management

Yea Wetlands Committee of Management

The Wetlands have been managed and developed by a s.86 Committee of Management (CoM) (formed in October 2002) to Murrindindi Shire Council. The Yea Wetlands CoM operates under a Deed of Management. Winner of the 'Best Community Group' category in the 2006 World Environment Day Awards presented by the United Nations Association of Australia Day Award, the Committee has been energetic, resourceful and highly productive.
The committee is comprised of ten dedicated volunteers and one Shire Councillor. It is a vibrant and proactive group that has a history of making things happen. All members are passionate about the wetlands and the flora and fauna that live there and everything done by the committee is to ensure that existing habitat is preserved and improved as well as being mindful of the needs of visitors to the area. The committee actively fundraises, holds highly successful guest speaker dinners and maintains a large ‘Friends’ group. The CoM works closely with the Taungurung Clan to ensure our aboriginal heritage is respected and valued.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. HTML code is not allowed.